UEFA makes La Cartuja official as the Spanish venue for the European Championship

Archive - Cartuja Stadium

The UEFA confirmed that Seville will replace Bilbao as headquarters of the next Eurocup, in which Munich remains as host and the matches that were to be played in Dublin will be played in Saint Petersburg and London. As decided by the UEFA Executive Committee meeting this Friday, the stadium La Cartuja de Sevilla will be the alternative venue San Mamés in the competition.

UEFA explained that the four games that were to be played in Bilbao, the three from the group stage of the Spanish national team within group E and one from the round of 16, will move to the La Cartuja stadium in Seville, with the support of the Autonomous Community of Andalusia, which has confirmed its intention to allow viewers at 30% capacity from the field.

“Following the decision of the local authorities (of Bilbao), it became clear that it was highly unlikely that the fans would be able to attend the matches that were scheduled to be played there. Therefore, with the help of the Royal Spanish Football Federation ( RFEF), UEFA proposed moving those matches to another venue in that host country, simply so that fans could attend the games after a year without being able to see football live in stadiums, “UEFA said.

In a statement it indicated that “this decision will create a festive atmosphere in all the matches that take place in the most important UEFA national team competition. “Spain will therefore play in La Cartuja against Sweden on June 14, against Poland on June 19 and Slovakia on June 23.

Two days ago, in a joint statement, the Bilbao City Council, the Provincial Council of Bizkaia and the Basque Government announced the UEFA’s “unilateral” decision, which they do not share, and announced that they will enforce the contract they signed with this body to request financial compensation.

Leave a Reply