Three theses about the DFB draw against Denmark: Then it would be foolish to do without Boateng

In the first test match before the EM against Denmark, the DFB team revealed a well-known problem, but also showed progress. The returnees Mats Hummels and Thomas Müller fit in seamlessly and loudly – even if the central defender is anything but fit and the question arises whether Joachim Löw should warn Jerome Boateng in advance.

Three theses to 1: 1 in Innsbruck’s Tivoli Stadium.

Joachim Löw did it again. In the penultimate game before the killer against France at the start of the European Championship on June 15, he tried this mix of three and five chains so often and so often failed since the World Disaster World Cup in 2018. Don’t get it wrong: In some teams this makes perfect sense, especially with attacking full-backs.

But there are not many of them in Löw’s EM squad. Robin Gosens maybe, and he made a good game in the 1-1 draw against Denmark, in that, in addition to his submission for the only German goal by Florian Neuhaus in the 48th minute, he dared to do a lot and initiated some dangerous actions. But his counterpart on the right-hand side, which has become the number one construction site, Lukas Klostermann, is not an offensive full-back.

The professional from RB Leipzig did not hit a single dangerous cross in 60 minutes and never got through to the baseline. Because he thinks defensively – and has been playing mainly in central defense at his club for several months.

1. The five-man chain makes no sense with this staff

With Löw’s mishmash of 3-4-3 and 5-2-3, the German game is far too predictable because it shifts too much into the center due to the lack of support from the wings. And there – like on Wednesday against Denmark – it is usually very tight, so that even variable players with a good feel for the right spaces like Thomas Müller, Leroy Sane and Serge Gnabry have problems creating chaos in the last third. Löw should therefore modify his play area as soon as possible. In 13 days the opponents are no longer Jannik Vestergaard, Simon Kjaer and Thomas Delaney, but Lucas Hernandez, Raphael Varane and N’Golo Kante.

Leave a Reply