Euro 2020: Bilbao and Dublin will not receive the competition, Seville and St. Petersburg as a replacement

La Cartuja Seville
Eleven different cities will host Euro 2020, a first in the history of the competition.

Dublin and Bilbao are no longer among the cities that will host Euro 2020, UEFA announced on Friday 23 April. in a press release. A decision taken since these two localities cannot guarantee a minimum occupancy rate in their stadium, the idea of ​​a closed session being totally prohibited by the European body.

For the first time in the history of the competition and to celebrate its 60th anniversary, the European Football Championship, which will be held from 11 June to 11 July 2021, is being organized in several different cities. Initially there were twelve: Rome, London, Amsterdam, Baku, Bucharest, Budapest, St. Petersburg, Copenhagen, Glasgow, Munich, Dublin and Bilbao. But the last two were withdrawn from the project since they did not allow the reception of an audience in the stadiums.

The capital of Ireland will be replaced by Saint Petersburg, which is already on the list of host cities and which has also confirmed that it can receive at least a 50% audience. The round of 16 initially scheduled for Dublin will ultimately take place at Wembley Stadium in London. The Basque city will be replaced by another city on the Iberian Peninsula, namely Seville, which has made its Olympic stadium available and has undertaken to fill it to 30% of its initial capacity.

Finally, Munich is keeping its matches, UEFA having announced that the city is able to accommodate a minimum of 14,500 spectators at the Allianz Arena. An assertion however contradicted in the afternoon by the mayor of the Bavarian city.

Leave a Reply